About the Festival

Festival TrophiesThe Cambridge Drama Festival is an annual, competitive festival for One Act plays. It is open to any team but priority is given to groups based in and around Cambridge. Organised by a voluntary committee, we employ a professional adjudicator to provide constructive feedback on the plays presented and to award the trophies on the last night.

Above all, we hope that participants enjoy the experience of taking part in the Cambridge Drama Festival. The Organising Committee is there to uphold the rules but also to provide help and support where needed – we want the festival to be entertaining and enjoyable both for the competing groups and for the audience, so please ask if you need any help or advice.

NDFA – National Drama Festival Association

The Cambridge Drama Festival is a member of the National Drama Festivals Association and as such your group may be eligible to take part in further events and festivals should your production be successful.


There are a range of exciting awards up for grabs at each festival, awarded by the Adjudicator on the last evening. If you are lucky enough to win one one of these trophies then you have the pleasure of taking it home for posterity until we request it back for presentation at the next festival.

  • First Place – Trophy
  • Second Place – Trophy
  • Third Place – Trophy
  • Best Actor – Cup
  • Best Actress – Miriam Rundle Memorial Cup
  • Best Cameo Performance – Marjorie Ticehurst Memorial Salver
  • Best Junior Group – Trophy
  • Best Actor (aged 18 or under) – Angela Lewsey Award
  • Best Actress (aged 18 or under) – Stagefright Award
  • Adjudicator’s Award – Stagefright Award
  • Backstage Award – Cadbury Schweppes Trophy
  • Best Stage Presentation – Pye & Philips Trophy
  • Best New Play – Cup (see notes below*)
  • Best Lighting – Roland Carter Award
  • Best Costume – Mary Penson Memorial Trophy
  • Best Sound – Radio Cambridgeshire Cup
  • Audience Appreciation – Rodney Salver

* The adjudicator has the right to withhold an award if he/she considers that the standard reached is not sufficiently high enough.

Companies offering a new play should note that the Best New Play award will be given to the author of the best play performed at the festival that, on the closing date of entry, (a) is unpublished, (b) has not been performed professionally, (c) has not won a New Play Award in any competition and that (d) any previous performance must have been within 12 months of the opening date of the festival.