Waterbeach Community Players



WCP - The Hiram J Haffenbacker ShowThis new play is a satire on the mid morning chat shows beloved of both British and American TV channels – only without the budgets, the restrained hosts or the witty and sophisticated guests.

Hosted by the legend in his own toenail, Hiram J Haffenbacker, a man so oily he had “Castrol Multigrade” stamped on his forehead when he emerged into the world, his widely ignored show has all the ingredients you would expect from this type of programme: the DNA and lie detector tests, the families at war and shock revelations. And who is Tamara?

Steve Doke, Chas Barclay, Sophie Heald, Will Morris and Daisy Gill
Directed by David Morris

About the group

Waterbeach Community Players are an award winning group, situated three miles outside Cambridge. The group was formed in 1978 and present two main productions and a Pantomime every year.

Celebrating their 40th year, they have decided to re-brand themselves as ‘Waterbeach Theatre Company’ to give everything a fresh outlook, whilst continuing to build on the successes of their previous years.

They are regular performers at local drama festivals, including at Cambridge, where they have won a number of awards. Although drama is the main objective of the group, they also engage in a wide variety of social activities throughout the year.

Most of their productions take place at Waterbeach School three times a year (January, May and November) and, as is the case with all local groups, they are always on the lookout for new members.

Contact Julie Petrucci on 01223 880023 or email julie.petrucci@btinternet.com for more information.

 www.wtconline.org.uk  @waterbeachdrama  @WaterbeachThCo

Recent achievements at the festival

  • 2017 – THE DUMB WAITER (Best Sound)
  • 2015 – HEARTS AND ARROWS (Best New Play)
  • 2014 – LADY GLANVILLE’S FRITILLARY (2nd Place, Best Stage Presentation, Backstage Award)
  • 2013 – THE STATEMENT (Best Actress – Emelia Marshall-Lovesey)
  • 2012 – SEARCHING (Adjudicator’s Award)
  • 2011 – ARRIVAL (Best Stage Presentation)
  • 2010 – ANNIVERSARY (2nd Place)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.